Surprised

We went to the Dublin Village Apartments yesterday afternoon. The people were very attentive: they appeared to enjoy the hymns we sang with them, they listened to the scripture and the message, and they seemed to look forward to our coming back. I wasn’t really surprised at their reactions to us. What I was surprised at was my reaction to them. We have done this kind of thing before, although it was over 20 years ago, and I always felt a bit uncomfortable. Maybe this time it was that they were more attentive than I remembered. Maybe I have learned more compassion over the years. Or maybe it’s because I am closer to them in age. Whatever the reason, I am looking forward to going back next month, Lord willing.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Surprised”

  1. Bob Says:

    If you went 20 years ago, you must have been in your early 20s! I was impressed at the way you jumped right in and sat with the folks. You are right, they were appreciative and alert. I enjoyed it, too.


Leave a Reply

